111 verified data points extracted from primary sources.
Georgia incarceration rate ranking Statistic
Georgia incarcerates people at the 7th highest rate nationally — 881 per 100,000 residents — a rate higher than any country in the world except El Salvador.
881 per 100,000 residents vs. 7th highest nationally; higher than any country except El Salvador
incarceration rate
Georgia
national ranking
international comparison
Georgia state prison population Statistic
Approximately 50,000 people are held in Georgia's state prisons.
50,000 incarcerated people
prison population
Georgia
GDC
Annual cost of Georgia prison system: approximately $1.8 billion Statistic
Georgia's state prison system costs approximately $1.8 billion annually (FY 2025 actual expenditures: $1.824 billion; Amended FY 2026 budget: $1.799 billion).
$1.8B
budget
GDC
corrections spending
Annual prison releases in Georgia Statistic
14,000–16,000 people are released from Georgia prisons back into communities each year with minimal preparation, support, or resources.
14000-16000 people released per year
reentry
prison releases
Georgia
Georgia official three-year felony reconviction rate Statistic
Georgia's official three-year felony reconviction rate is approximately 25–27%, which places the state among the lowest reported recidivism rates nationally.
25-27 vs. 39-44 national average recidivism rate
recidivism
official statistics
reconviction rate
Georgia
National average recidivism rate Statistic
The national average recidivism rate, depending on methodology, ranges from 39% to 44%.
39-44
recidivism
national average
methodology
Adjusted return-to-incarceration rate in Georgia Statistic
When technical violations, arrests not resulting in conviction, and extended measurement windows are incorporated, the actual return-to-incarceration rate in Georgia is closer to 50% — roughly double the official figure.
50% vs. 25-27 official felony reconviction rate
recidivism
adjusted rate
technical violations
Georgia
Georgia transition center capacity Statistic
Georgia operates 12 Transitional Centers statewide with a total capacity of approximately 2,344 beds.
2,344 beds across 12 centers
transition centers
reentry
capacity
Georgia
GDC vocational education contract amount FY 2025 Statistic
Vocational education contracts totaled just $172,000 in FY 2025, against a total GDC budget of $1.48 billion.
$172,000 vs. 1,480,000,000 total GDC FY 2025 budget
vocational education
budget
GDC
reentry investment
Post-release death risk first two weeks Statistic
The risk of death in the first two weeks post-release is 12.7 times higher than for the general population.
12.7x times higher risk of death vs. general population
post-release mortality
death risk
reentry
healthcare
DOJ investigation scope and finding severity Finding
The October 2024 DOJ investigation of 17 Georgia prisons found 'among the most severe violations' of civil rights the department had documented in its history of prison investigations.
DOJ investigation
civil rights violations
Georgia prisons
DOJ conclusion: people leave prison worse Quote
The DOJ investigation concluded that people 'leave prison worse than when they came in.'
DOJ investigation
rehabilitation failure
Georgia prisons
recidivism
Georgia Medicaid expansion refusal Policy
Georgia is one of the remaining states that has refused full Medicaid expansion under the Affordable Care Act, creating a coverage gap affecting approximately 175,000 Georgians.
Medicaid
healthcare
coverage gap
ACA
Georgia
State officials attribute low recidivism to Deal-era reforms Finding
State officials attribute the low reported recidivism rate to Second Chance programs implemented under Governor Nathan Deal's justice reinvestment initiative (2012–2015), reductions in employment barriers, and expanded use of alternative sentencing.
recidivism
Deal administration
justice reinvestment
Second Chance
Georgia uses three-year measurement window for recidivism Methodology note
Georgia uses a three-year post-release window for recidivism measurement, which misses people who return to prison in years four, five, and beyond.
recidivism
methodology
measurement window
Georgia recidivism metric excludes technical violations Methodology note
Georgia's recidivism metric captures only new felony convictions, excluding technical violations of probation or parole conditions, which are a primary driver of returns to incarceration.
recidivism
methodology
technical violations
probation
parole
Georgia highest community supervision rate nationally Statistic
Georgia has the highest community supervision rate in the nation: 1 in 23 residents under community supervision, compared to a national average of 1 in 33.
1 residents under community supervision vs. 1 in 33 national average
community supervision
probation
parole
Georgia
national ranking
Georgia probation and parole population Statistic
Georgia supervises approximately 478,000 people on probation and parole at any given time.
478,000 people on probation and parole
probation
parole
community supervision
Georgia
Deaths excluded from recidivism measurement Methodology note
People who die during the recidivism measurement period are removed from the dataset rather than being analyzed as a reentry outcome, despite elevated mortality risk post-release.
recidivism
methodology
post-release mortality
data gap
Post-release death risk over first two years Statistic
Formerly incarcerated people face 3.5 times the risk of death over the first two years post-release (average 1.9-year follow-up) compared to the general population.
3.5x times higher risk of death vs. general population over 1.9-year follow-up
post-release mortality
death risk
reentry
Georgians with criminal records Statistic
Approximately 4.2 million Georgians — out of a total state population of approximately 11 million — have some form of criminal record, meaning more than one in three Georgia residents.
4,200,000 people with criminal records vs. 11,000,000 total Georgia state population
criminal records
Georgia
stigma
employment barriers
Georgia correctional supervision rate Statistic
One in 13 Georgians is currently under some form of correctional supervision (incarceration, probation, or parole), compared to a national average of 1 in 33.
1 Georgians under correctional supervision vs. 1 in 33 national average
correctional supervision
Georgia
national comparison
incarceration
GDC FY 2025 budget total Statistic
The Georgia Department of Corrections' FY 2025 budget is $1.48 billion.
$1.5B
GDC budget
FY 2025
corrections spending
GDC budget increase over FY 2024 Statistic
The GDC FY 2025 budget represents a $153 million increase over FY 2024.
$153.0M vs. FY 2024 GDC budget
GDC budget
budget increase
year-over-year
GDC budget increase over FY 2023 Statistic
The GDC FY 2025 budget represents a $214 million increase over FY 2023, adding more than $200 million in just two fiscal years.
$214.0M vs. FY 2023 GDC budget
GDC budget
budget increase
two-year trend
Per-inmate daily cost in Georgia Statistic
The per-inmate cost in Georgia has risen to $86.61 per day ($31,612 annually), driven primarily by healthcare costs, staffing challenges, and aging infrastructure.
$86.61
per-inmate cost
GDC
incarceration cost
Annual per-inmate cost in Georgia Statistic
The annual cost per incarcerated person in Georgia is $31,612.
$31,612
per-inmate cost
GDC
annual cost
incarceration
FY 2025 correctional officer pay increase Statistic
$43 million was allocated in FY 2025 for correctional officer pay increases, reflecting chronic recruitment and retention failures.
$43.0M
correctional officers
pay
staffing
GDC budget
New CO hire turnover rate Statistic
82.7% of new correctional officer hires leave within their first year, per the DOJ investigation.
82.7%
correctional officers
turnover
staffing crisis
DOJ investigation
FY 2025 health and pharmacy contract increase Statistic
$72 million increase in health and pharmacy contracts in FY 2025, approaching a 40% increase in prison health spending since FY 2020.
$72.0M vs. 40 percent increase in prison health spending since FY 2020
healthcare spending
GDC budget
pharmacy contracts
FY 2025 prison safety and infrastructure spending Statistic
$52 million was allocated in FY 2025 for prison safety and infrastructure.
$52.0M
GDC budget
infrastructure
prison safety
FY 2025 private prison and county institution payments Statistic
$38 million additional was allocated in FY 2025 for private prison contracts and county correctional institution payments.
$38.0M
private prisons
county jails
GDC budget
contracts
Vocational education spending per incarcerated person Statistic
At $172,000 for a system holding approximately 50,000 people, vocational education spending works out to roughly $3.44 per incarcerated person per year — less than the cost of a single commissary item in most GDC facilities.
$3.44
vocational education
per-capita spending
reentry investment
No dedicated reentry line items in GDC budget Data gap
No dedicated line items for comprehensive reentry programming, transition planning, or post-release support services are visible in publicly available GDC budget documents.
reentry
budget
GDC
programming
data gap
Deal-era justice reinvestment prison population reduction Statistic
Governor Nathan Deal's justice reinvestment initiative (2012–2015) reduced the prison population by 6% through evidence-based sentencing alternatives.
6%
justice reinvestment
Deal administration
prison population
sentencing reform
Deal-era averted incarceration costs Statistic
The Deal-era justice reinvestment initiative generated $264 million in averted incarceration costs.
$264.0M
justice reinvestment
Deal administration
cost savings
Deal-era reinvestment in recidivism reduction Statistic
The Deal-era initiative reinvested $57 million of savings directly into recidivism reduction programs, including accountability courts, substance abuse treatment, and community supervision improvements.
$57.0M
justice reinvestment
Deal administration
reinvestment
accountability courts
substance abuse
Deal-era reforms did not increase crime Finding
The Deal-era justice reinvestment initiative achieved prison population reduction and cost savings without increasing crime rates.
justice reinvestment
Deal administration
public safety
crime rates
Transition center beds serve fewer than 15% of annual releases Statistic
With 14,000–16,000 people released annually, the 2,344 transition center beds can serve fewer than 15% of annual releases at any given time.
15%
transition centers
capacity
reentry
bottleneck
Women's transition center capacity Statistic
Only two of Georgia's 12 transition centers serve women, providing a combined 346 beds.
346 beds for women across 2 centers vs. 2,344 total transition center beds
transition centers
women
gender
reentry
capacity
Medical conditions can disqualify from transition center placement Policy
Medical conditions can disqualify a person from transition center placement, forcing a choice between healthcare access within prison and transfer to a transition center that may not manage their conditions.
transition centers
eligibility
medical conditions
healthcare
Reentry Partnership Housing duration Policy
Reentry Partnership Housing (RPH), operated through the Board of Pardons and Paroles, provides up to 3–6 months of transitional housing for people on active state parole or probation supervision.
RPH
housing
reentry
Board of Pardons and Paroles
RPH capacity is not publicly disclosed Data gap
The Reentry Partnership Housing program's capacity relative to the 14,000–16,000 annual releases is not publicly disclosed in available documents.
RPH
housing
data gap
reentry
capacity
THOR is a referral tool not a housing program Policy
Transitional Housing Opportunities for Reentry (THOR) is an online directory maintained by the Georgia Department of Community Supervision that lists available beds but does not fund, create, or guarantee housing.
THOR
housing
reentry
referral
Department of Community Supervision
Faith Project ATL housing provision Finding
Faith Project ATL provides up to 12 months of free housing for work-ready individuals, but operates at community scale serving dozens or hundreds against a need measured in thousands.
Faith Project ATL
housing
reentry
nonprofit
faith-based
Walking the Last Mile initial capacity Statistic
Walking the Last Mile (WTLM), launched in 2023 with U.S. Department of Labor funding, had initial capacity of 25–50 participants with a stated goal of scaling to 500–1,000 within two years.
25-50 initial participants vs. 500-1000 two-year scaling goal
WTLM
employment
reentry
pilot program
Department of Labor
Vocational program completers recidivism rate Statistic
Incarcerated people who complete vocational programs have a recidivism rate of approximately 13% — roughly half the state's already-underreported general rate.
13% vs. 25-27 general official recidivism rate
vocational programs
recidivism
education
rehabilitation
DOJ found vocational programming slashed Finding
The DOJ investigation found that educational and vocational programming had been slashed rather than expanded, and conditions in most facilities were so chaotic and violent that meaningful programming participation was effectively impossible.
DOJ investigation
vocational programs
educational programming
violence
Total Georgians who would gain coverage under full Medicaid expansion Statistic
An estimated 359,000 total Georgians would gain coverage under full Medicaid expansion.
359,000 people who would gain coverage
Medicaid expansion
healthcare
coverage
Georgia
Pathways to Coverage enrollment vs projection Statistic
Georgia's Pathways to Coverage partial Medicaid expansion with work requirements enrolled only 4,900–6,500 people as of late 2024 through early 2025, against an original projection of 64,000 enrollees.
4900-6500 people enrolled vs. 64,000 original enrollment projection
Pathways to Coverage
Medicaid
enrollment
work requirements
Georgia
Pathways to Coverage effective date Policy
Georgia's Pathways to Coverage partial Medicaid expansion with work requirements took effect in July 2023.
Pathways to Coverage
Medicaid
work requirements
Georgia
Post-release uninsured rate for men at 2-3 months Statistic
78% of men are uninsured 2–3 months after release from incarceration.
78%
post-release
uninsured
healthcare
men
reentry
Post-release uninsured rate for women at 2-3 months Statistic
66% of women are uninsured 2–3 months after release from incarceration.
66%
post-release
uninsured
healthcare
women
reentry
Post-release uninsured rate for men at 8-10 months Statistic
68% of men remain uninsured 8–10 months after release from incarceration.
68%
post-release
uninsured
healthcare
men
reentry
Post-release uninsured rate for women at 8-10 months Statistic
58% of women remain uninsured 8–10 months after release from incarceration.
58%
post-release
uninsured
healthcare
women
reentry
Section 5121 juvenile Medicaid requirement Legal fact
Section 5121 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act 2023 requires Medicaid coverage for eligible juveniles in the pre- and post-release periods, effective January 1, 2025.
Medicaid
juveniles
Section 5121
reentry
federal law
Section 205 Medicaid suspension requirement Legal fact
Section 205 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act 2024 requires states to suspend (rather than terminate) Medicaid eligibility during incarceration, effective January 1, 2026.
Medicaid
suspension
Section 205
reentry
federal law
incarceration
Georgia 1115 reentry waiver approval Policy
Georgia was approved for a Section 1115 demonstration waiver for reentry Medicaid coverage, making it one of only four non-expansion states with such a waiver as of September 2024.
1115 waiver
Medicaid
reentry
Georgia
CMS
Georgia received federal planning grant for Medicaid suspension Policy
Georgia received a federal planning grant (one of 29 states) to develop operational capability for the Medicaid suspension-not-termination requirement.
Medicaid
planning grant
reentry
federal funding
Substance use disorder prevalence among Georgia prisoners Statistic
Between 50% and 66% of people entering Georgia's prison system have a substance use disorder.
50-66
substance use disorder
addiction
Georgia prisons
prevalence
Substance use disorder prevalence in US jails Statistic
Two-thirds of people incarcerated in U.S. jails meet criteria for a substance use disorder, with many specifically involving opioids.
66.7%
substance use disorder
jails
national
opioids
MOUD availability in US jails Statistic
Nationally, fewer than 44% of jails offer any form of medication for opioid use disorder (MOUD), and only 12.8% make these medications available to anyone with an opioid use disorder.
44% vs. 12.8 percent making MOUD broadly available
MOUD
jails
opioid use disorder
medication availability
national
Prison opioid treatment creates aversion to MOUD Finding
Research from the University of Georgia's School of Social Work (Graves & Fendrich, 2024) found that adverse treatment experiences with opioids inside prison actually create an aversion to MOUD at reentry, making people less likely to accept effective treatment when they leave.
MOUD
opioid treatment
aversion
prison
reentry
University of Georgia
Post-release overdose risk first two weeks — 129 times higher Statistic
Overdose risk in the first two weeks post-release is 129 times higher compared to the general population.
129.0x times higher overdose risk vs. general population
overdose
post-release mortality
two weeks
reentry
Post-release opioid overdose risk first two weeks — 40 times higher Statistic
Opioid-specific overdose risk in the first two weeks post-release is 40 times higher than for the general population.
40.0x times higher opioid overdose risk vs. general population
opioid overdose
post-release
two weeks
reentry
Rhode Island MOUD reduced post-release overdose deaths by 75% Statistic
When Rhode Island implemented all three FDA-approved forms of MOUD during and after incarceration statewide, post-release overdose deaths dropped by 75%.
75%
MOUD
Rhode Island
overdose
best practice
reentry
Overdose is leading cause of post-release death Finding
Overdose is the leading cause of death among people recently released from incarceration.
overdose
post-release mortality
cause of death
Federal COSSUP program funding available Policy
The Bureau of Justice Assistance operates the Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Use Program (COSSUP), providing funding to establish, expand, or improve treatment and recovery support services during incarceration and upon reentry.
COSSUP
federal funding
BJA
substance abuse
treatment
reentry
Georgia's utilization of federal substance abuse funding is a data gap Data gap
The full extent of Georgia's utilization or under-utilization of federal substance abuse and reentry funding streams (COSSUP, SAMHSA) is a critical data gap that warrants Open Records investigation.
data gap
federal funding
COSSUP
SAMHSA
Georgia
open records
One in six Georgia jobs requires occupational license Statistic
One in six Georgia jobs requires an occupational license.
1 jobs requiring occupational license
occupational licensing
employment barriers
Georgia
42 licensure boards with independent criminal record standards Statistic
Until recent reforms, 42 licensure boards in Georgia operated with independent — and often opaque — criminal record standards, many using vague 'good moral character' requirements as blanket exclusions.
42 licensure boards
occupational licensing
licensure boards
good moral character
employment barriers
Criminal record unemployment rate five times state average Statistic
The unemployment rate for people with criminal records in Georgia is estimated at approximately five times the state average.
5.0x times the state average unemployment rate vs. Georgia state average unemployment rate
unemployment
criminal records
employment barriers
Georgia
2022 licensing reform: good moral character removal Policy
In 2022, some 'good moral character' requirements were removed from Georgia licensing applications.
licensing reform
good moral character
employment
Georgia
2024 licensing reform: direct relation standard Policy
In 2024, Georgia licensure boards may now only deny a license if the conviction 'directly and specifically relates' to the licensed occupation.
licensing reform
occupational licensing
employment barriers
Georgia
2024 licensing reform: lookback period reduced Policy
In 2024, the criminal record lookback period for licensing purposes in Georgia was reduced from 7 years to 3 years.
licensing reform
lookback period
criminal records
employment
Georgia
GED/vocational certification reduces recidivism by 17% Statistic
A 2015 analysis found that obtaining a GED or vocational certificate during incarceration reduces recidivism by 17%.
17%
GED
vocational education
recidivism reduction
RAND
Georgia prison homicides 2018-2023 Statistic
Homicides in Georgia prisons numbered 142 between 2018 and 2023.
142 homicides (2018-2023)
homicides
prison violence
Georgia
DOJ investigation
Georgia prison homicides in 2023 Statistic
35 homicides occurred in Georgia prisons in 2023.
35 homicides in 2023
homicides
prison violence
Georgia
DOJ investigation
2023
Georgia prison homicides under investigation in 2024 Statistic
By 2024, 66 homicides were under investigation in Georgia prisons — a dramatic escalation that far exceeded 2023's total of 38.
66 homicides under investigation vs. 38 2023 total homicides
homicides
prison violence
Georgia
escalation
2024
Deaths categorized as unknown cause despite being homicides Finding
Many deaths in Georgia prisons were categorized as 'unknown cause' despite being clear homicides, reflecting a systemic failure in even basic death reporting.
death reporting
homicides
data integrity
DOJ investigation
DOJ found deliberate indifference Finding
The DOJ found 'deliberate indifference' to violence, sexual abuse, drug trafficking, and extortion in Georgia prisons.
deliberate indifference
DOJ investigation
violence
sexual abuse
drug trafficking
extortion
Gangs control housing units in multiple facilities Finding
Gangs effectively controlled housing units in multiple Georgia prison facilities, with officers unable or unwilling to intervene.
gangs
housing units
DOJ investigation
staffing crisis
Georgia prisons
DOJ noted lack of educational and mental health resources Finding
The DOJ specifically noted the lack of educational programming, lack of mental health resources, and overuse of solitary confinement in Georgia prisons.
DOJ investigation
educational programming
mental health
solitary confinement
Walker State Prison had no homicides Finding
Walker State Prison — a smaller facility with better staffing ratios and more consistent programming — had no homicides in recent years, demonstrating that functional, safer conditions are achievable within the Georgia system.
Walker State Prison
homicides
staffing
programming
best practice
DOJ investigation
DOJ investigation focused on 8 South Georgia facilities Finding
The DOJ investigation covered 17 Georgia prisons with particular focus on 8 facilities in South Georgia.
DOJ investigation
South Georgia
facility focus
DOJ report length Finding
The DOJ released a 93-page findings report on Georgia's prison system.
DOJ investigation
report
Georgia prisons
Estimated annual cost of recidivism in Georgia Statistic
The estimated annual cost of recidivism in Georgia is $395 million–$790 million, based on 12,500–25,000 people returning to prison annually at $31,612 each (using the 25%–50% recidivism range).
395000000-790000000
recidivism cost
fiscal impact
Georgia
warehousing
Total annual cost of incarceration plus recidivism Statistic
Total annual cost of incarceration plus recidivism in Georgia is approximately $1.9–$2.3 billion.
1900000000-2300000000
total cost
incarceration
recidivism
fiscal impact
Georgia
Mental health and substance abuse treatment reduces recidivism by 6% Statistic
Mental health and substance abuse treatment programming alone reduces recidivism by 6%.
6%
mental health
substance abuse
treatment
recidivism reduction
Black share of Georgia prison population vs general population Statistic
58% of Georgia's prison population is Black, compared to approximately 33% of the state's general population — a disparity ratio of roughly 1.76.
58% vs. 33 percent of Georgia general population is Black
racial disparity
Black
incarceration
Georgia
demographics
Communications kickback revenue from families Statistic
Families of incarcerated people in Georgia pay $8+ million annually in communications kickbacks to maintain family bonds.
$8.0M
communications
kickbacks
families
extraction economy
Georgia
Kemp administration reversed Deal-era approach Finding
The Kemp administration reversed the Deal-era justice reinvestment trajectory, returning to a warehousing-first model with escalating costs and no measurable public safety benefit, adding $214 million in GDC spending over two years.
Kemp administration
policy reversal
warehousing
Deal era
spending
Leading causes of post-release death Finding
The leading causes of post-release death are drug overdose, cardiovascular disease, homicide, and suicide — all conditions for which evidence-based interventions exist.
post-release mortality
causes of death
overdose
cardiovascular
homicide
suicide
Pathways spending on administrative costs Finding
Reports indicate that most of the Pathways to Coverage program's spending has gone to administrative costs rather than actual healthcare benefits.
Pathways to Coverage
administrative costs
waste
Medicaid
Georgia prison system descended from convict leasing Finding
Georgia's current prison system descends directly from its convict leasing system, and the economic logic of extracting labor value from Black bodies while externalizing costs onto Black families has been consistent across the intervening century.
convict leasing
racial history
extraction economy
Black communities
Policy demand: triple transition center capacity Policy
GPS advocates expanding transition center capacity from 2,344 beds to at least 7,000, serving approximately 50% of annual releases.
policy demand
transition centers
capacity expansion
2026 advocacy
Policy demand: increase vocational funding to $15 million Policy
GPS advocates increasing vocational education funding from $172,000 to at least $15 million — 1% of the GDC budget — with a goal of 5% within three years.
policy demand
vocational education
funding
2026 advocacy
2024 Senate Study Committee on GDC produced reform recommendations Finding
The 2024 Senate Study Committee on the Department of Corrections produced a final report with reform recommendations; tracking implementation provides an accountability framework.
Senate Study Committee
GDC
reform
accountability
Georgia legislature
Prison health spending approaching 40% increase since FY 2020 Statistic
Prison health spending in Georgia is approaching a 40% increase since FY 2020.
40%
healthcare spending
GDC
budget trend
prison health
WTLM geographic concentration Finding
The Walking the Last Mile program is geographically concentrated in metro Atlanta (DeKalb, Fulton, and Gwinnett counties).
WTLM
geographic limitation
metro Atlanta
DeKalb
Fulton
Gwinnett
Open records request needed: GDC programming budgets by facility Data gap
An open records request is needed for detailed GDC spending on educational, vocational, and substance abuse programming by facility, FY 2020–2025.
open records
data gap
GDC
programming budget
vocational
substance abuse
Open records request needed: transition center utilization data Data gap
An open records request is needed for transition center occupancy rates, average length of stay, waitlist lengths, denial reasons, and demographic breakdowns.
open records
data gap
transition centers
utilization
demographics
Open records request needed: MOUD availability by facility Data gap
An open records request is needed for which GDC facilities offer which MOUD medications, enrollment figures, and continuity-at-release protocols.
open records
data gap
MOUD
facilities
opioid treatment
Open records request needed: post-release mortality data Data gap
An open records request is needed for deaths within 30, 90, and 365 days of release from GDC custody, with cause of death and facility of last incarceration.
open records
data gap
post-release mortality
cause of death
Open records request needed: federal reentry funding utilization Data gap
An open records request is needed for Georgia's applications for and receipt of BJA COSSUP, SAMHSA reentry, and other federal substance abuse/reentry grants.
open records
data gap
federal funding
COSSUP
SAMHSA
Open records request needed: vocational program outcomes Data gap
An open records request is needed for number of vocational program slots, completion rates, and post-release employment outcomes by program type and facility.
open records
data gap
vocational programs
completion rates
employment outcomes
Open records request needed: Pathways enrollment for formerly incarcerated Data gap
An open records request is needed for detailed Pathways to Coverage enrollment data for formerly incarcerated individuals specifically, including application-to-enrollment timelines.
open records
data gap
Pathways to Coverage
Medicaid
formerly incarcerated
County jails release more people annually than state prisons Finding
Georgia's county jails release substantially more people annually than the state prison system, often with even less reentry preparation.
county jails
reentry
releases
reporting angle
Private prison reentry requirements unknown Data gap
Whether GDC's contracts with private prison operators include any requirements for programming, reentry preparation, or outcome measurement is unknown and identified as a reporting angle.
private prisons
contracts
reentry
programming
reporting angle
Brief framed for 2026 gubernatorial election advocacy Methodology note
This research brief is framed as actionable advocacy content for the 2026 gubernatorial election cycle in Georgia.
advocacy
2026 election
gubernatorial
Georgia
political strategy
People returning annually estimated at 12,500-25,000 Statistic
Based on the 25%-50% recidivism range applied to approximately 50,000 incarcerated people, an estimated 12,500–25,000 people return to prison annually in Georgia.
12500-25000 people returning to prison annually
recidivism
returns to prison
annual estimate